Jurisdictional Scan of E-bikes and E-scooters Regulation in Ontario

Where are E-bikes Permitted?

E-bikes on Roadways	
Operating Condition Municipality	
Permitted on roads with speed limit up to 60 km/hr; not applicable for a reserved bicycle lane regardless of the speed limit.	Region of Durham Town of Ajax (bicycle-style)
Permitted on all roads within the jurisdiction	City of Oshawa City of Mississauga City of Brampton Region of Waterloo City of Toronto City of Hamilton City of Ottawa City of Vaughan City of Peterborough

Note: City of Pickering and Municipality of Clarington do not have a by-law specific to e-bikes; HTA applies.

E-bikes in Bike Lanes	
Operating Condition Municipality	
Permitted	Region of Durham City of Oshawa Region of Waterloo City of Brampton City of Hamilton City of Ottawa City of Mississauga City of Peterborough Town of Ajax (bicycle-style) City of Vaughan (bicycle-style)* City of Toronto (excludes motorcycle style)

^{*} Based on the information available on the City website.

Note: City of Pickering and Municipality of Clarington do not have a by-law specific to e-bikes; HTA applies.

E-bikes on Multi-Use Paths (MUP)	
Operating Condition Municipality	
Permitted	City of Oshawa City of Brampton City of Hamilton City of Mississauga City of Vaughan (bicycle-style)* City of Ottawa (bicycle-style)** Town of Ajax (bicycle-style) City of Peterborough (bicycle-style) City of Toronto (e-bikes < 40 kg defined as pedelec) Region of Waterloo (e-bikes <55 kg)***

^{**} Based on the information available on the city website.

*** E-bikes with weight less than 55 kg are defined as motor assisted vehicle.

MUPs are defined as multi-use trails in the by-law.

E-bikes on Park Trails		
Operating Condition	Municipality	
Permitted	City of Oshawa City of Pickering (speed limit < 20 km/hr) City of Mississauga (e-bikes <40 kg) City of Toronto (e-bikes < 40 kg defined as pedelec; speed limit 20 km/hr) City of Ottawa (traditional style)** Town of Ajax (traditional style) (allowed on trails with width ≥ 2 m) Region of Waterloo (e-bikes <55 kg)	
Prohibited	City of Brampton City of Toronto (e-bikes > 40 kg) City of Mississauga (e-bikes >40 kg) Region of Waterloo (e-bikes >55 kg)	

^{**} Based on the information available on the City website.

E-bikes on Sidewalks	
Operating Condition	Municipality
Prohibited	City of Oshawa Town of Ajax Region of Waterloo City of Brampton City of Mississauga City of Hamilton City of Toronto City of Vaughan City of Ottawa City of Peterborough

Where are E-scooters Permitted?

E-scooters on Roadways	
Operating Condition	Municipality
Permitted on roads with speed limit up to 60 km/hr; not applicable for a reserved bicycle lane regardless of the speed limit.	Region of Durham Town of Ajax City of Pickering
Permitted on roads with speed limit up to 50 km/hr; not applicable for a reserved bicycle lane regardless of the speed limit.	City of Oshawa Region of Waterloo (Cambridge, Kitchener and Waterloo) City of Hamilton City of Ottawa City of Brampton City of Mississauga City of Guelph
Prohibited	City of Toronto

E-scooters in Bike Lanes	
Operating Condition	Municipality
Permitted	Region of Durham Town of Ajax City of Oshawa City of Pickering Region of Waterloo City of Brampton City of Hamilton City of Ottawa City of Mississauga City of Vaughan
Prohibited	City of Toronto

E-scooters on Multi-Use Paths	
Operating Condition	Municipality
Permitted	Town of Ajax City of Oshawa Region of Waterloo (Cambridge, Kitchener and Waterloo) City of Hamilton City of Ottawa City of Brampton City of Mississauga City of Guelph
Prohibited	City of Pickering City of Toronto

E-scooters on Park Trails	
Operating Condition	Municipality
Permitted (paved trails only)	Town of Ajax (width >= 2 m) City of Oshawa* City of Ottawa* Region of Waterloo (Cambridge, Kitchener and Waterloo) City of Hamilton
Prohibited	City of Pickering City of Mississauga (excludes MUP trails along roadway) City of Guelph City of Toronto

^{*} Prohibited if signed

E-scooters on Sidewalks	
Operating Condition	Municipality
Prohibited	Town of Ajax City of Pickering City of Oshawa Region of Waterloo (Cambridge, Kitchener and Waterloo) City of Hamilton City of Ottawa City of Brampton City of Mississauga City of Toronto

Other Micromobility Devices

The City of Vaughn restricts electric skateboard/hoverboard, Segway, unicycles on roadways, bike lanes, multi-use paths and sidewalks. Other municipalities do not explicitly mention this in their by-laws.

The City of Toronto "A Micromobility Strategy for Toronto" states that "under the HTA, eskateboards, Segway personal transporters, and powered one wheels are not permitted, and there are no current provincial pilot projects for them." Therefore, these devices have not been considered in the discussion of the potential micromobility devices.