

Council Composition By-law

Being a By-law to confirm the composition of the Council for The Corporation of the Town of Whitby (the "Whitby Council") as nine (9) members and change the method of election for the Town's four (4) Regional Councillors from at large to by ward.

Whereas Section 217(1) of the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended (the "Municipal Act") authorizes a local municipality to change the composition of Whitby Council; and,

Whereas the Whitby Council considered potential changes to the composition of Whitby Council through Report CLK 06-25 at the Regular Council meeting on May 26, 2025; and,

Whereas the Whitby Council directed through Resolution # 108-25 at the Regular Council meeting on May 26, 2025 that a by-law be brought forward to change the method of election for the Town's four (4) Regional Councillors from at large to by ward.

Now therefore, the Council of The Corporation of the Town of Whitby hereby enacts as follows:

1. General

- 1.1. Whitby Council shall be comprised of nine (9) members of as follows:
 - 1.1.1. A Head of Council for Whitby Council, called 'Mayor' who shall be elected at large in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 32, Sched., as amended (the "Municipal Elections Act, 1996") and shall have the duties and the responsibilities of the head of council as set out in the Municipal Act. By virtue of holding the office of Head of Council, the Mayor shall serve on the Council of the Regional Municipality of Durham.
 - 1.1.2. Four (4) Regional Councillors, who shall serve on both Whitby Council and the Council of the Regional Municipality of Durham, and who shall be elected by ward vote in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as follows:
 - North Ward One One (1) Regional Councillor elected by the eligible electors in North Ward One.
 - West Ward Two One (1) Regional Councillor elected by the eligible electors in West Ward Two.
 - Centre Ward Three One (1) Regional Councillor elected by the eligible electors in Centre Ward Three.
 - East Ward Four One (1) Regional Councillor elected by the eligible electors in East Ward Four.

- 1.1.3. Four (4) Ward Councillors, who shall be elected by ward vote to serve on Whitby Council, in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as follows:
 - North Ward One One (1) Ward Councillor elected by the eligible electors in North Ward One.
 - West Ward Two One (1) Ward Councillor elected by the eligible electors in West Ward Two.
 - Centre Ward Three One (1) Ward Councillor elected by the eligible electors in Centre Ward Three.
 - East Ward Four One (1) Ward Councillor elected by the eligible electors in East Ward Four.
- 1.2. Pursuant to Section 217(4) of the Municipal Act, the provisions of this By-law shall first serve as the basis for conducting the 2026 Municipal Election.

2. Effective Date

2.1. Pursuant to Section 217(3) of the Municipal Act, this by-law shall come into effect on the day the new council is organized after the first regular election following the passing of the by-law, that being the 2026 Municipal Election.

by law read and passed this 2014 day of dane, 2020.
Elizabeth Roy, Mayor
Christopher Harris, Town Clerk

By-law Name: Council Composition By-law By-law # 8200-25

By-law read and passed this 23rd day of June 2025

By-law # 8200-25 Page 2 of 2